Dance with me Daddy…

 

 

“Slip your hand in mine
Ask me to dance with you tonight”
Dancewith me
O lover of my soul”
“I want to sit at you feet
drink from the cup in your hands
lay back against you and breath
feel your heartbeat”
“We will dance
When the sun is shining
In the pouring rain
We’ll spin and we’ll sway
And we will dance
When the gentle breeze
Becomes a hurricane
The music will play
And I’ll take your hand
And hold you close to me”
“Sometimes we feel so far apart
Sometimes we dance as one
And feel the beating of each others hearts ”
“Youdance over me
While I am unaware
You sing all around
But I never hear the sound”
“So I will dance with Cinderella

So long intro on this one but those are just a few lyrics from many of my favorite songs. As a child, I loved dancing with my dad. He would place my on His feet and dance around the room with me. Then, came the prime event in any little girls life- The Father Daughter Dance . Mine came when i was 10 . It was Feb 28 at the Emerson Elementary school for all of the Girl Scouts. I remember that night like it was yesterday. I went with my close friends and their dad, we got our picture made, my dad twirled me on the dance floor, we did the Electric Slide, the Macarana, and the YMCA . It was the greatest and saddest moment of my life. That was the last night my dad danced with me. For years I longed to dance, to just let him swoop me off my feet and to just dance with my dad again.

Now, I get that chance daily. Not from my earthly father but from my Heavenly Father, my perfect Father. He daily waits, and stretches out his hand with the invitation to dance with him that day. Sometimes, I accept, and others I don’t. He doesn’t force, He instead lavishes His love. While we dance, His love pours into me, I become his favorite princess, his lil girl. Then, he swoops me off my feet, places me into his lap, and I fall asleep to the sound of his heart beat beating with love for me. I know I must return back to the chaos in life but I know another dance awaits me. and as i return, he gently whispers, “It’s okay my child, I love you and will never leave you, no matter what happens in this world, you are mine and that is why I love you.”

The same is true for you. He desires to love you like his personal daughter, his princess. He wants to dance with you, to hold you tight, to whisper that he loves you and that you are his. Have you danced today? Accept his offer and listen to his love.

3 thoughts on “Dance with me Daddy…

  1. This is so true and so well written! Thank you for reminding me that Christ IS the Lover of my soul, and that He desires to dance with me and delights in loving me. What a wonderful message!~S.

  2. I love the image of dancing on daddys feet! Did you take it? I would love to use the image on a project I am working on, would you offer rights to it?

    Thanks so much!
    Lisa

Thoughts?

