Fathers being fathers

For I have chosen him, that he may command his children and his household after him to keep the way of the Lord by doing righteousness and justice, so that the Lord may bring to Abraham what he has promised him.” Genesis 18:19

For I have chosen HIM.. lately, I’ve been watching the Christian men around me. I’ve watched how they interact with their children, how they listen to them , how they dance with their children, how they praise their children, and most importantly how they love their children.  These men have been chosen and have obeyed their calling as a father and have been teaching their children the ways of the Lord. Since these men have been obedient, their children will prosper and will flourish and live richer and fuller life’s, because they have brought up in the word and they have established a relationship with their father.

When I became a Christian , it was hard for me to acknowledge God as my father. I had not, and still to this day, had a good relationship with my father. Sure, I remember the father- daughter dance and the days of playing games, but they had been crushed by the reality that those once held dreams and wishes and desires would never come again. See, my father is an alcoholic. As a child, I didn’t understand the world around me. I didn’t understand why mom and dad fought or why I had to go to bed with tears flowing down my eyes. I didn’t understand why my parents didn’t love each other and why he didn’t love me any more. As I got older, I realized what was going on and knew my life would be altered for the rest of my life.  So when I was a new Christian, and I was told that God was also known as the Father , it was hard for me to grasp. Was He not going to love me, was he like my earthly father, did he get angry and say things he didn’t mean or go off and not come back? As my life as a Christian grew, I found that this was wasn’t so. God was the complete opposite. He wasn’t going to leave me and promised me and He doesn’t break His promises as I was accustom to. So , I began seeing God as my Father. Now, it’s not uncommon to hear me call Him “Daddy”

One of my new favorite songs is ” Cinderella” by Steven Curtis Chapman. In it, he talks about dancing with his daughters before it’s to late. I’ve not been able to relate this to my earthly father, but to my Heavenly Father. So now, I can daily dance with Him, just like the little princess I am .

So this is what I want to say to the fathers who may read this- love your children and be the father you’ve been commanded to be. Spend time with them and teach them God’s ways. Dance with your daughters. I want to also tell you that as I’ve watched you, I’ve noted on the qualities that I want in my future husband who will one day be a father of his own. Thank you for listening to God’s command and being a wonderful father.

One thought on “Fathers being fathers

  1. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on fathers, and what a testimony. I’m going to get Will to read this because I think it is a good word to hear.

Thoughts?

