Types of Friends

So the other night I went to my weekly bible study called Intervarsity. There we had a guest speaker talk about spiritual gifts. As we were talking about them I began to realize that I have different types of friends who I go to for different things because of their spiritual gifts. These were the top 3 types:

1. The ” This is what I get out of this” friend. This friend has the gift of wisdom. They know how to handle different situations and they also see the things you don’t in situations.

2. The” This is what the Bible says” friend. This friend has the gift of knowledge. They know what the Bible says on different things and they know where to find scripture for different situations.

3. The” This is where you trust Jesus” friend. This friend has the gift of faith. They trust Jesus in and with everything.

Where do you fit? Jesus has given you a gift and these are just 3 of them. But when people approach you with a situation do you talk through it with them, do you point them to a Bible verse, or do you help them trust Jesus?

2 thoughts on “Types of Friends

  1. oh wow…im the ‘this is what I get out of this’ friend. very practical, very to the point, but also very understanding and open to letting people vent. however, i wish i had a little bit more of the third friend in me. i think you are the third type of friend for sure…

  2. really? I guess now I am but I don’t think thats who the old me was. I’ve always had a hard time in trusting Jesus with things. I think that is the one thing I learned this year. But you are right about you. you are the ” this is what I get out of this” friend and I like that about you ( because I’ve been able to vent to you and you helped me decipher things from other perspectives)

Thoughts?

