The Valley

“Even when I walk
through the darkest valley’s
I will not be afraid,
for you are close beside me.
Your rod and your staff
protect and comfort me.”
Psalm 23:4

I’m going to be honest here- lately I’ve been in a valley. I’ve been in the rut and I couldn’t seem to figure out why or how to get out. I wasn’t looking to the right place for the right directions. In fact I just sat and wallowed. It’s like I was a lil kid who for some reason was super upset but didn’t want to get over it. So I sat in the valley. I played with the dirt, made it my home, tried to draw up these blueprints of ways to climb out but never once did I confront the Chief. Nope. When He’d lean in to try to get a word in, I said “Nope, I’m good, I’ve got this.” So He sat back and waited. He watched. He protected. He didn’t put more weight than I could hold.

I kept sitting and starring at the dirt. I started to wonder how come nothing seemed to change. I was still in the dirt, and now I was dirty. I tried “fasting” and praying but they never were from the heart. They were helpless and hopeless. I started to get the feeling I was alone. Then Sunday morning we say “In Christ Alone.” This song always pierces my heart. This verse always reminds me of a truth I often forget:

No power of hell, no scheme of man
Can ever pluck me from His hand
‘til He returns or calls me home
Here in the power of Christ I’ll stand

Nothing can remove me from God. He has me and always has me. This morning when I was singing this God spoke to me and showed me I could play in the dirt all I wanted but my plans wouldn’t go anywhere if He wasn’t in charge. They weren’t taking me where I needed to go. He wasn’t going to make me go get clean but He made me think real hard about it. He waited for me to stand up, let Him dust me off, give me a clean set of clothes, take my hand, and show me how to get out of the valley.

So you know what? I’m hand and hand with Jesus, and we’re going to get out of this valley. One day at a time.

Thoughts?

