Childhood

Take a walk down my childhood,

Take a walk and you’ll see

Branches used for climbing

And apples that hung on trees.

Take a walk down my childhood,

Take a walk and you’ll see

Acorns used for bullets

And vines used for swings

Take a walk down my childhood,

Take a walk and you’ll see

Streams that lead to nowhere

And forests full of dreams.

Take a walk down my childhood,

Take a walk child and you’ll see

A place I’ve long forgotten

And the place that always remembers me.

 

I wrote that poem while walking down the mountain. The picture is of me when I was younger. I have and always will be a wild and crazy, tree climbin, nature lover. My children will know and experience the outdoors. I think back to the trees, the woods, and the vines that held me as a child. I was young and free. Now this is me.

I still climb in trees, but not as often. I am timid from the one thing that I purely enjoyed as a child for fear of ridicule. Why is it that we force people to believe that when they grow up they can no longer do such things. No, I will not be the same. I will always be a child at heart.

Thoughts?

