The Tale of Two Schools and A Backpack

At the beginning of my sophomore year a wonderful friend- Bekah Warren, gave me her backpack. That backpack had lasted all of her college years at Berry, it had seen the world, and now it was going with me to Berea. I loved this backpack. It met all my needs and beyond. That backpack is still the one I daily use. Whether for weekend trips home or just day to day from class to class, it’s like it was always meant for this job ( ok so it was, that’s why it’s a backpack πŸ™‚ )

This year, my junior year, began and I thought it was great. I was all ready to do my stuff in swimming, had my friends groups ready to hang out all the time, and my core education classes to dive into. But slowly things started to change. Swimming was taken from me, groups disintegrated, and classes became overwhelming. My depression began to spike and I found myself lonelier and lonelier.

In those times, I sometimes prayed. As I prayed God began to move my heart. He began showing me where I needed to be, and He began revealing that maybe Berea wasn’t that place anymore. Sure, there are great things here. In the 2.5 years I’ve been here I’ve done some cool things, but when I really got to the heart of it- I needed to be home.

So I prayed. I asked others to pray and we did. I started to look at schools back home and feel in love with one- Berry. Now, Berry is very similar to Berea, in fact they are known as sister schools. This was a plus to me. Berry is known for it’s education program. It’s also 30 minutes from home and had ample benefits for me. So one night, I applied. And when I did, I was finally at peace. Sure days after that I was still wrestling with some of the issues I had been struggling with, but inside I knew what I was doing was of God.

I checked my admission status last night and it revealed I was admitted. While it’s hard for me to express to those here at Berea how much I’ll miss many of you, it’s also hard for me not to scream and shout at the fact that I’m going home- where I need to be. I know many of you may feel like this is the wrong decision, that everything I need is here, I just wasn’t trying hard enough, but after much prayer and talking to those who know my situations and all that I’m going through, we all feel that this is the right thing for me.

Others may be asking, well why did you leaver GA in the first place if you were just going to be returning. To be honest, in the beginning I didn’t think I would. But KY has taught me a lot about myself and has helped me grow in so many ways. God wanted me to travel up here and I”m thankful I did, but now it’s time to return home.

This will be a hard “see ya later”( because I don’t believe in good-byes). But if we truly are united by the blood of Christ, then we are together always. Berea will always hold a place in my heart as my first college experience, as my first taste of freedom, and my first taste of homesickness.

So now the backpack returns to the school it once started at. It’s made it’s circle.


6 thoughts on “The Tale of Two Schools and A Backpack

  1. I love you. And your heart. And your face πŸ™‚ I can’t wait for you to be home. We’ve been through so much the past 8 years (can you believe it’s been that long?) and I’ve seen how much you need to come home. I’m one of the few people who’s blessed enough to see every side of Kaela, and this is not the wrong decision. I’ve prayed for you more than I ever have over the past few months…can’t wait for you to be home! Love you!!

  2. When are you leaving? At the end of this semester? We will surely miss you, ma’am. It’s been a blessing to get to know you at The River. Don’t be a stranger!

    Much love,
    PT

    1. I will be leaving at the end of this semester. I’ll miss yall as well and I have truly been blessed by being a part of The River.

  3. You’re a blessing to those at Berea and here at home, Kaela. I’m sooo happy you’re at peace with your decision. It was reached prayerfully and that’s the MOST important thing. Follow where you know God is leading and you can’t fail. Even those things that appear to be failures, will be used for His glory and for your experience. Sooo excited you got accepted and I can’t wait to have you back home! πŸ™‚

Thoughts?

