I will stand by You

“As iron sharpens iron, so a friend sharpens a friend.”

Proverbs 27:17

Accountability. It’s an important factor in life. Whether your trying to stop a bad habit, form a healthy one, build a business, plant a church, be a better Christian, lose weight, get good grades, compete in athletic events, or just go one day without cussing, we all need accountability. God’s word even says this. When two people rub against each other, they force each other to grow sharper, and stronger. For many  of us, we have several accountability partners, different ones for different parts of our life. Here is a list of mine.

Michelle Baker, Stephanie Hancock, Kelly Powers, Nikki Boggs, Christy Ledbetter, Dana Sutton, Katie Mitchell

These ladies all push me and know how to pull me deeper. For those ladies who are older than me, I look to them for advice on how to deal with certain situations. For those who are my age, I look to them for support through situations I know they are also facing. Some help me with many areas of my life, like Stephanie Hancock. We’re both working towards losing weight together and becoming healthier, she also holds me accountable for my relationships with others including Christ.

In my 21 short years of life, I’ve seen the difference between success and failure, and often it deals with accountability. Those of us who seek others as well to help build us up, are often more successful because they have that extra drive. On our own, man is lazy. When we don’t have to check in with anyone else, we become stagnate creatures.

Above all, our biggest accountability is the Holy Spirit. When we listen to Him, we know where to go and when we’ve done wrong.

I love this song by Rascal Flatts, definitely a song about accountability. Who stands by you?

Thoughts?

