A New Journey

5.5 years ago I walked into a church that met in a movie theater. I didn’t know what the next years would look like or what God was about to do in my life. In those 5.5 years God taught me a lot about ministry. As I learned, God brought me back to a hot summer day in 2003 when He told me that one day I’d be in ministry full time. As with all things, God’s timing is different than our own. As a 7th grader I thought ” cool, can’t wait. I’m sure I’ll be 30 by then.”

That summer I started volunteering in kids ministry. I started with the classic VBS. I began helping in the nursery, teaching sunday school, and helping with any other kids stuff. When I moved to Oak Leaf, I started doing more. Volunteering on a regular basis, set up, tear down, curriculum, music, you name it- I probably did it. The passion for kids ministry just took off. I loved teaching kids about Jesus and showing them how to live a Godly life.

Fast forward 4 years. A pastor moves to Dallas to start a church. God waters that seed of doing kids ministry. I mention it, but don’t act. Fast forward again to now. That seed is bloomed into a huge tree and it’s ready to bear fruit. And this is where the journey begins.

I have prayerfully considered and accepted an internship as a children’s director at Home Town Church in Dallas GA. Many of you know Jody May and have even visited the church. I’m excited to partner with them and help advance the Kingdom of God in Dallas. This is a great step into full time ministry for me. I have been very blessed over the past 5 years to have good leaders and role models in my life that have helped shape me into the person I am today. For that I’m thankful.

While I am going to miss the interactions of those I’m close with at West Ridge, I know that the church is not a building, it is a community of believers. I’m not leaving the church, just relocating my self to serve another area to build that community.

So here’s to the turning of the page, a new journey is unfolding.

One thought on “A New Journey

Thoughts?

