Being relational

In this world there are many types of relationships. Some are good, some are bad, but regardless we all have them. In the past 6 months I’ve learned that I have difficulty building relationships, especially with those who I lead. As a leader it’s important that you build relationships so that you can reach to your volunteers on a whole new level.

My goal this next year is a simple but big one. It’s to establish greater relationships. I shouldn’t just reach out to a volunteer just to have them fill a hole in a classroom. I should know how I can pray for the families in my church. I should know the progress the children in the ministry are making because I have worked with them.

For those of you who know me, you know this is going to be a difficult task for me. But because it’s one that furthers the kingdom of God, it’s one I’m willing to work through and conquer. My volunteers and families are valuable to me and I should treat them with such respect as to listen to them and help them in life.

Thoughts?

