Calling

One year ago around this time I was driving home to Cartersville from Dallas after meeting with Jody May. I left with a huge decision needing to be made. One that it seemed I had waited for my whole life, yet was hesitant to take.

I had to decide whether or not to accept Jody’s offer to join Home Town as the children’s director intern.

That night brought me back to a night one summer at camp when I walked up front and proclaimed that I felt the calling on my life to work in the ministry. I had no idea what I was saying then to be completely honest. I never knew what that was going to look like or if it would ever happen. But at a teen, it was established.

When Jody began Home Town, I sensed a tug to join him. Due to circumstances at the time I wasn’t able to. Looking back, it was because God had a lot of work to do on my heart. The year before Jody asked me to join Him was one that endured a lot of healing.  But last January was different.

The circumstances were perfect, the move was not a hard one to think about, the weight of the task was the hard part. Coming to Home Town meant leaving Oak Leaf. It meant moving to a town I knew nothing about and stepping into a leadership role. After much prayer I made my decision.

I said yes.

I said yes to the one who gave voice to the calling that God had established on my life long before He even placed it in my heart Now after a year of being in this position, I don’t ever want to leave. I know this is what the Lord wants me to do with my life. I find the purest joy in seeings families grow in their relationship with God. Last year was an incredible year. One in which that I felt a lot of pressure on my life but I glorified God in all of it. I’m blessed to be able to start a second year with the church. God has big plans for this year and I can’t wait to see Him use me to unfold them.

Home Town I love you and I am so thankful to be a part of you and to be able to serve you.

 

Thoughts?

