My crazy 2013 challenge

A crazy thought has been buzzing through my head since my first 5k. It’s a thought most people call nuts and a few call insane. For me though, I now call it a challenge.

That thought? Complete an Ironman 70.3 this year.  To be exact September 29th in Augusta.

 

So what does an Ironman 70.3 consist of? A 1.2 mile swim, a 56 mile bike ride, and a 13.1 mile run. I know I can do the swim part, I’ve never biked that long, and the longest I’ve ran was my first 5k on December 8th. But I’m going to challenge myself to doing it. I have 9 months to train for this. The hardest part for me to train for right now is the swim just due to a lack of a pool, however I know come summer I can add that into my training. Right now it’s getting my bike mileage up as well as my running. With CKB and that I believe I will be ready come September.

I know for me this is a challenge of endurance and mindset. It’s a challenge of really focusing in on an obstacle and overcoming it not with my strength but with God’s. So yes, I’m crazy, nuts, and insane. But I’ll be 1/2 an Ironman.

 

Thoughts?

