You Don’t have to Try

A week and a half ago I began a 2 week stint of house sitting. The first house greeted me with a warm welcome of a note reminding me of my beauty. It was then that I decided to challenge myself during these two weeks. For the two weeks, I’d go with no makeup. I’d work on embracing the beauty of who I am. I’d learn to love the me in the mirror, not the me that I think is in the mirror. So I started each day telling myself I was beautiful.

Some days, I broke down in tears because I so often still saw the girl from the past. The one who was 236 and unconfident. The one who swore beauty was skin deep and tried to be like others just so maybe someone would look her way.

Others, despite my acne deciding it was going to light up like a minesweeper board, I saw my beauty. It wasn’t skin deep. It was something deeper. A beauty that existed because a love so deep that the only thing it can do is transform the thing that once was so dark and ugly into a beautiful vessel worthy for a King.

In the midst of this challenge I took on by myself, I heard a new song that seemed all too fitting.Below is the video ( and the video is what helped bring this to full circle)

1 Samuel 16:7 says this “But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not look on his appearance or on the height of his stature, because I have rejected him. For the Lord sees not as man sees: man looks on the outward appearance, but the Lord looks on the heart.”

{easter}SOOC-12At the end of the day, it’s your heart that people long for. Not the makeup, the short skirts, the crop tops, or fake nails. All these things will fade, be damaged or destroyed, or be wiped off. But your heart, it endures. It is what shines in the night when all else is gone. That’s what God sees. That’s where the beauty is. As Colbie reminds us, you don’t have to try so hard. When the makeup is off, when your home alone, do you like you?

 

Thoughts?

