Thirst

ABC_7957-2

Tonight I did something many folks did almost a month ago. I took down my Christmas tree. Because I had gotten a real tree, every oranment I took off, every strand of lights I pulled, needles fell. The scratched my arms again, they broke branch by branch revealing a truth- for a month this tree was without water. For a month it sat in the corner of my house, unlit and unfed. It thirsted. But because it’s life was dependent upon my care and because I neglected it, it began to do what all living things that go without proper nutrients- it began to die.

Tonight it’s death lies upon my floor awakening a deeper thirst inside my soul.

See much like this tree, I thirst. Surely my flesh thirsts for the things of this world like words of praise and accolades. But man can not live on those words. The words of man fail and fall. They are unreliable. They can leave wounds that sting like the dry and broken branches. So my soul thirsts for more. My soul thirsts like David in Psalm 63:

1O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you;
my soul thirsts for you;
my flesh faints for you,
as in a dry and weary land where there is no water.
2So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary,
beholding your power and glory.
3Because your steadfast love is better than life,
my lips will praise you.
4So I will bless you as long as I live;
in your name I will lift up my hands.
5My soul will be satisfied as with fat and rich food,
and my mouth will praise you with joyful lips,
6when I remember you upon my bed,
and meditate on you in the watches of the night;
7for you have been my help,
and in the shadow of your wings I will sing for joy.
8My soul clings to you;
your right hand upholds me.
Nothing can fill my soul like the power of God. Nothing can be as satisfying as His power, glory, and grace. My body knows the satisfaction fat and rich food provide, but the fullness of God is something that takes this dry soul and returns it to the fountain of life. It’s what reminds me of where my strength comes from. It’s what keeps me singing for joy even when life is full of stress. It’s what keeps me clinging to Him, knowing that without Him I’m nothing more that a dry soul who’s thirst can not be quenched.
Thoughts?

