A Foundation to Be Broken

In December I competed in my first federational powerlifting meet. I came second in my weight class and division but walked away with two PRs and two state records.

DSC_3246

DSC_3335

But with PRs and records, also came defeats. My competitor beat me in both my bench and deadlift.

DSC_3403 DSC_3504

Even with that I still walked away with a medal and as of yesterday a certificate acknowledging the success of the meet.

DSC_3528 record

But what I did was just a foundation. Myself along with my competitor Rylee set the foundation for the 82.5kg weight class in the open division. My goal is to never compete again in that weight class, hoping to drop to the 75kg and then ultimately the 67.5kg class. But I hope one day someone breaks my record. Because while I set the record, my numbers really weren’t all that impressive. Someone out there is warming up with those weights.

What I wish for women who are beginning to compete, is that they would see those numbers and aspire to change them much like I look at Michelle Coile’s numbers and aspire to see my name there for a period of time. I hope women would be challenged in the gym to grow in strength and no longer be intimidated by men that would see them as weak beings. I desire to change the myth that if you lift heavy you’ll be bulky. I want women to feel strong and powerful, yet still know they can be graceful and sweet.

So I hope some female lifter in the 82.5kg USPA classic raw class reads this, sees my name and numbers and desires to replace my name with theirs. Because a record is only as good as the challenge to chase it.

So what records are you chasing? 

One thought on “A Foundation to Be Broken

Thoughts?

